Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Kidzworld Logo

February 2009 Book Buzz

It’s fabulous February and boy do we have some fabulous new kids, young adult and teen books for you!

February 1: Suddenly Supernatural :: Scaredy Kat

The second book in the Suddenly Supernatural series is here! Check out Scaredy Kat by Elizabeth Kimmel.

February 1: Gullstruck Island

From Frances Hardinge, the award-winning author of Fly By Night, comes a brand new adventure. Discover the magical world of Gullstruck Island.

February 10: Raven

Nicole discovers that the love of her life is immortal. Check out our review of Allison Van Diepen's newest novel filled with forbidden love, unknown dangers and even a few breakdancing competitions!

February 10: Percy Jackson :: The Demigod Files

Check out this companion book to the Percy Jackson and the Olympian’s series. The Demigod Files is an interactive guide to Rick Riordan’s bestselling series, complete with fun games, puzzles, short stories and more!

February 10: Brass Dragon Codex

You’ve seen red, bronze, silver, green and black! Now it’s time for the sixth colorful book in the Dragon Codex series. Check out the Brass Dragon Codex by R.d. Henham.

February 10: Five Ancestors #6 :: Mouse

The Five Ancestors is back with its sixth and final adventure. Grab a copy of Mouse by Jeff Stone on February 10th.

February 10: The Gecko and Sticky :: Villain’s Lair

From Wendelin Van Draanen, the author of the Sammy Keyes series and Confessions of a Serial Kisser, comes a brand new series filled with quirky characters and outrageous adventures.

February 10: Barnaby Grimes :: Return of the Emerald Skull

Your favorite tick-tock lad is back in Return of the Emerald Skull. Also check out the first book in the Barnaby Grimes series, Curse of the Night Wolf, by the authors of The Edge Chronicles.

February 10: Judy Moody’s Double-rare-way-not-boring Book of Fun Stuff To Do

You’ve read the Judy Moody series; now check out her activity book filled with puzzles, crosswords, trivia, quizzes, how-to guides and more!

February 10: Shadowed Summer

Leaving Vampire books behind, Shadowed Summer explores the spooky realm of ghosts. Check out Saundra Mitchell’s debut novel!

February 15: Miles to Go

Today’s hottest pop sensation, Miley Cyrus, is giving you a backstage pass to her life in the limelight. Don’t miss all her new pictures, poems and doodles in Miley’s new book, Miles to Go.

February 16: Max Quiggly :: Technically Not a Bully

Fans of Jeff Kinney and Louis Sachar will love Max Quiggly, a story for boys where a bully and a wimpy kid strike up an unusual friendship.

February 24: Paradise Lost

Take a five-star Caribbean vacation with Kate Brian in her new edition to the Private series, Paradise Lost.


Related Stories


What's Your Fave Kind Of Book?

  • Mystery.
  • Scary.
  • Romance.
  • Fantasy

Random In The Forums

reply about 1 hour
Pink_Cool_Girl posted in General:
I wanted to say something to everyone. But since I want to, you must read this. Enjoy my message.  ★★★★★ 1. I need you to look at 5 ★ ★ 2. The answer is look at 11 :) ★ ★ 3. Don't get mad and look at 13 ★ ★ 4. Calm down don't be mad and look at 15 ★ ★ 5. First look at 2 ★ ★ 6. Don't be angry look at 12 ★ ★ 7. All I wanted to say was hello, and that I wasted 30 seconds of your life. Not that you had one, anyways.  ★ ★ 8. Look at number 14 ★ ★ 9. Be patient look number 4 ★ ★ 10. Finally look at 7 ★ ★ 11. I hope your not mad, look at 6 ★ ★ 12. Take a look at 8 ★ ★ 13. Just glance at 10 ★ ★ 14. ...Look at 3 :) ★ ★ 15. LOOK AT 9 ASAP ★★★★★
reply about 1 hour
Hi! I'm making this so I can get commissions to draw something from someone. I love doing commissions, and I love drawing :3 If you'd like to request something, here's what I'll need to know. Note: I tend to do humans (mostly OCs for people) and fail at inanimate objects/plants/animals, but I can try XD Style: Realistic (Hardest for me) *A selection of a head shape. Like, oblong, square, oval, etc., and if you don't know all them or what they look like, look up some charts of head shapes, and pick your favorite. Or just, whatever your character has XD *A body type. Chubby, skinny, average, toned, etc. *Height, generally. I'm not good at putting a height effect in, but I can try :P *Eye shape. Good to look up a chart for this, too, and choose the one you like. Also say whether or not they're wide-spaced, close-set, or the classic one-eye-apart. Note, though, that Africans/African-Americans tend to have wide-spaced eyes. *Ethnicity. European, African/African-American, Asian, etc... it's good to know, since some ethnicities have different proportions than others. And yeah, Google doesn't think "ethnicities" is a word. I'm not sure either XD *Age. It'll make a difference in heads tall. *Gender. It'll make a difference in features. *Hair color, hair length, and a good description or image example of what it's styled like. *A good description or an image example of what the person wears. *A good description or an image example of what the pose the person is doing is. *If you prefer, it can be done in black-and-white. You don't have to include colors if you want black-and-white. That's all I can think of for that style, so if you think of anything else, please add it in! X3 You can also just use embedded images for all of the areas, if you so wish. If you desire to see my skill level before you request a drawing, I'll be posting an example of each style I do this weekend. Now... for anime/manga. *Essentially the same as realistic, but with the eyes, it's best to provide examples for the shape of the eyes. Anime/manga elements should be included, too :P That's all. If you have some other style I should try, or have some tips on how I can improve, please tell me! ^-^ I already know I need to work on clothing wrinkles for sure, so any help on that is greatly appreciated. (Eventually, over the weekend, I'll make forms for each individual style... And an example of my work in each form.) Oh! Media forms! Here's what I offer, and the time expected... Pencil and paper (Just shading): One day (1-2 commissions), 2-3 days (3-6 commissions), 3-5 days (7-10 commissions), 5+ days (11+ commissions). NOTE: ESTIMATES. Pencil and paper (In color): Same amount of time as the above. Digitally drawn (Longest): Five days (1-2 commissions), it really just depends though. Expect digital ones to take at least a week.
reply about 1 hour
drowning posted in Say Anything:
I have nicknames that go from Kitten to Mermaid, from Blankie to Senpai, from Mama to Bee, and Young Grasshopper to Sissy. :'>>>
reply about 1 hour
Kristin, usually, but sometimes they refer to me as "brilliant".   [s:p/1kuk] Ginger is also very common, and some of my internet friends call me Dan/ny. Other internet nicknames blossom from my usernames, such as how I'm often called "Poptart" here on KW.
reply about 2 hours