-
x

Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Friends
Kidzworld Logo

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

Related Stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...
Hunger-games-books-poll

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Random In The Forums

Fire667
Fire667 posted in Debating:
Doesn't matter by now all that has been said and uncovered about each other I'd be suprised if when one becomes president he/she is shot 
reply about 1 hour
Abbergrl
Abbergrl posted in General:
Excitement
reply about 3 hours
urifour11
urifour11 posted in Debating:
@rainbowpoptart Well, I'd have to disagree with you there my friend. Naturally the audience that buys Barbie dolls are young girls. At a young age and with multimedia today girls are highly influenced by what they see on the TV, Magazine, and you guessed it their toys. Seeing is believing and with the unreachable beauty standards you see in magazines, it's kinda hard for girls to not want to pursue to be skinner and the likes. But anyway, your right with the Barbie being independent woman that don't need a man. But I think this new line is showing that all types of girls can be independent. This new line is expanding its skin colors, giving different hip sizes and different heights and different types of hair styles. It's no longer the blond haired and blue eyed type of deal. I think this is representing that there are many different kinds of people and different kinds of shape a sizes. With the television showing perfect fictional girl characters, or models on magazines, and other places, I think that it's good that they're showing different body types. 
reply about 5 hours
rainbowpoptart
@urifour11  I don't disagree with that. Well, not entirely. I disagree with your Barbie comments. Pink is Barbie's everything, and making something not pink for the female Barbie dolls would be a bit.. not Barbie.  I don't like their changing of the body shapes all too much. Barbie is supposed to be an exceptionally good-looking woman who shows girls that they don't need a man to be happy with their lives (though some people may think otherwise because of Ken's existence) and that they can do literally whatever they want to. It sounds really harsh, but I think it's the individual's fault for thinking they need to look a certain way to be accepted.  Although I strongly disagree with the newer dolls, I do completely respect why they're doing it. I'm sure they're working on the Lego sets. They already have dolls, so Legos should be here any day now, haha. And @Pink_Cool_Girl I want to look into the computer thing you were talking about to continue that discussion, but I'm super busy right now (I'm multi-tasking like crazy ugh). It'll have to wait until tomorrow. :P
reply about 8 hours
jayissocool
jayissocool posted in New Users:
Hey guys (and girls I guess too). My name is Jay I'm 13 and I live in PA. I like videogames especially minecraft and pokemon. I'm mostly on here cus I'm bored but it would cool to make a few new friends online. I actually already talked with one guy on here for a bit who seemed cool. If you want to just hang out and chat let me know. I have to go to bed right now but I'll read it tomorrow morning. Night all  :thumbsup
reply about 8 hours