-
x

Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Friends ff8c072dd79a91c1300f032d674241a8d64367100ffb1f25fa3f9bec4a05319f
Kidzworld Logo

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isnt the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

Related Stories

Micro bookreview scarlet micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro nobodybutus micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro reached micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro speechless micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...
Hunger games books poll

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

General In The Forums

AwesomeIvysaurGirl34
*that awkward moment when your friend writes SO much about you and you don't know what to write back other than thanks* .-. So, thanks, a ton. You mean so much to me, those paragraphs mean so much to me.  *struggling* I have become a great roleplayer because of that first roleplay I joined. Thanks for CH. *cough*#ShipWreck*cough*. I have been more into music because of you. Thanks. I have started to play AJ because of you. Thanks (btw, you should try the tablet version of AJ, it is SOOOOO great). Thanks for everything else that I can't remember now because of meh writer's block. THE STRUGGLE IS REAL I can't think of anthing else to say, so..... Thanks, you SPLATOON Noob
reply 15 minutes
XxRuby_PhoenixxX
"AwesomeIvysaurGirl34" wrote:  For example, I could die right now.  noT ON MY WATCH
reply 22 minutes
XxRuby_PhoenixxX
Something else you helped me with... umm... Well... you kind of... Made me better as a person. Well, now I stay on KW longer. I became a daredevil, I'm doing more risky things in life. If I hadn't pressed that "Post forum" button, I wouldn't be here. If I didn't enter the site for the first time and go to the chat, and say "Hello?", I wouldn't be here. If I didn't respond to the forum posts, I wouldn't be here. If I didn't message you back, or comment you back, I wouldn't be here.  You taught me that you should do things in your life while you can, even if you regret them or not. That maybe best friends do exist. You taught me that people should accept comfort instead of reclining it. From all the times we've talked on Animal Jam, to the times we've talked on Minecraft, it's made memories and affected the way fate will be in the future.  And if I never agreed with my mom to join the site, I wouldn't be sit here reading my book. I wouldn't stay up all night on weekends, waiting for your reply to a PM. I would be sitting in the living room watching Gone With the Wind with my mom. All of this because of Kidzworld. All of this because of you.  Thanks. 
reply 23 minutes
AwesomeIvysaurGirl34
"XxRuby_PhoenixxX" wrote: Ahem.  Dear Ivy, I've known you for a year now. Damn, a long time. It feels like I met you yesterday, even though we've grown close. You've always been there for me when I'm down, and I've tried to protect you also. We joked with each other, fought with each other, but knew that we were always best friends inside still.  You've been on kidzworld for shorter than me, but you are amazing at roleplaying. You debate amazingly, and you have the the art of persuasion. If it weren't for CH, we wouldn't have met, and we wouldn't have made it to 500 and more pages of private messages.  And, for the whole year you've known me, I grant you the 2nd rank of friendship.  Level two on the friendship tier.  This is a great honor, and I hope you accept this award.  Again, thank you Ivy. For everything.  Here you go. Best friendship level number 2. This is a great, great honor and nobody, even my old best friend got this.  Two words - THANK YOU
reply 26 minutes
AwesomeIvysaurGirl34
Not necessarily. Turning a year older doesn't mean one year closer to death. For example, I could die right now. It doesn't matter how old I am. I could have died before I was even one year old. But I didn't, cause I was lucky. :)
reply 27 minutes