Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

koolkatey
koolkatey posted in Debating:
Yeah - it saves lives Nah - kills animals  So its a yeah and a nah  but i will go with yeah  
reply 25 minutes
koolkatey
koolkatey posted in Debating:
duh, wat do u think? just break this dumb thing up get a real life  it so isn't real love, you meant a soft space for him ur heart ur not even a teen so yeah its wrong  
reply 36 minutes
Rameza
Rameza posted in General:
Psychopathic
reply about 1 hour
JustAnotherAnaPro
Breaking Do you hear me breaking? Can you see the cracks? Do you remember the little boys Who made up secret pacts? All the innocence lost now, Faded to the sea As it sinks softly to the sand Do you see it's breaking me? Do you look into the mirror With your cold and shattered eyes? Do you try and escape the darkness That's buried deep inside? Do you search for a lifeline? For a hidden glowing light That's somewhere in front of you But somehow out of sight I can guide you through the darkness I can take away your fears I can take all the pain away And dry your bitter tears I can be your heavens helper, I can take you by the hand I can help you find a sanctuary Why can't you understand? Is it because I'm different Dan? From the razors at your feet Are they your only relief From the hatred that you meet When you log on to your computer And read the words of hate That are more powerful than sticks and stones And magnify your taste For the harmful lowly weapons Scattered across the floor Why won't you let me help you? Instead of running out the door… The light is always fading Washing to the sea As it melts, like ice, into the ground Dan, Oh, Dan, Can you see it's breaking me?
reply about 1 hour
JustAnotherAnaPro
Tired
reply about 2 hours

play online games