-
x

Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Friends ff8c072dd79a91c1300f032d674241a8d64367100ffb1f25fa3f9bec4a05319f
Kidzworld Logo

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isnt the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

Related Stories

Micro bookreview scarlet micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro nobodybutus micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro reached micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro speechless micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...
Hunger games books poll

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

General In The Forums

Miss_Mouse
Miss_Mouse posted in Random:
"I cry every night" NOT TRU lmaooo
reply 19 minutes
Abbergrl
Abbergrl posted in Random:
This is gonna be terrible lolz, I'm definitely gonna make one!
reply about 1 hour
Abbergrl
Abbergrl posted in Say Anything:
It's terrible when people do that but guess what they're all lame. Lol they really are. And I agree, you don't need to have similar interests to be friends. Just be friendly and nice and a start conversations if you want. And maybe you'll get new friends :3
reply about 1 hour
Miss_Mouse
Miss_Mouse posted in Random:
These are gr8
reply about 5 hours
Nandez
Nandez posted in Debating:
"sugarpetals" wrote:What does a thirteen year old kid even know about their sexuality and coming out? At this age you've just hit puberty and sure some of you might be more mentally matured, but you're thirteen, you're now being exposed to those kinds of things and your hormones might start kicking in and you'll maybe feel different ways to different genders and people but i really do think that thirteen is a much too young age to decide, and to "come out". I respectfully disagree. this is how I think of it. Being gay happens it's not like you wake up one day and you want to be gay. It justs happens, some people come out when there younger like around 13 ish others come out sometime later. It is a confusing subject and because it's only relitvaly new concept. I think personally people should just accept the fact because for many people it's hard for people to come out because of how people look at them. People should leave an open mind because with that at least you can help and give support to those who are struggling to figure this out. Not to take this personally everyone is entitled to their own opinions this is just an explication to hopefully make it somewhat clearer. I am not gay myself but i have many friends who are so I opinion will be different than yours which is perfectly acceptable. 
reply about 6 hours