-
x

Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Friends
Kidzworld Logo

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

Related Stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...
Hunger-games-books-poll

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Random In The Forums

malia101
malia101 posted in General:
I will never understand how this thread keeps on getting revived.
reply about 1 hour
Hemoglobin
Watch buzzfeed videos on how ideal body types have changed over time, and what is considered attractive in different cultures all over the world. It shows that it's all about trends and preference and it changes from time to time.
reply about 2 hours
FLBeachGirl
I'm pretty comfortable with my body image. My parents are kind of hippy and just raised me to be cool with how I am.
reply about 3 hours
kimgee
kimgee posted in Say Anything:
it is pretty cool and quite enjoyable to make have you done any?
reply about 4 hours
rainbowpoptart
Ah, short films. Such an under-appreciated art. It takes a true master to tell a story in such a small amount of time (or in a small amount of words; short stories are wonderful too). I don't make them myself, but I plan to in the future.
reply about 4 hours