Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

>
>

readers voted!

Comments

sunny120

sunny120 wrote:

I want to read this book now
commented: Fri Dec 20, 2013

rithma

rithma wrote:

i dont like books but this one got my attention
commented: Fri Jul 19, 2013

kiwinana12

kiwinana12 wrote:

so going to read this
commented: Thu Jun 20, 2013

there are 5 more comments

Please login or register to add comments

share with your friends


Twitter Facebook Myspace Digg


like this article?
Sign up now to get more just like!

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

Bakkabooka
Bakkabooka posted in Debating:
"Bakkabooka" wrote:i believe that christ will come and....i forgot    and some bad stuff will happen to the bad peeps but not hell The end
reply 6 minutes
Bakkabooka
Bakkabooka posted in Debating:
i believe that christ will come and....i forgot 
reply 8 minutes
LAZY778
LAZY778 posted in Debating:
"Ellamy" wrote: I'm going to answer logically and scientifically here : as we all know, the earth was a natural disaster, which means, it wasn't supposed to been made. The Sun rotates around the Earth. Our Sun burns, that's why we see in the pictures, from the satellite "Hubble" the Sun is burning little by little. In a about proximally two million years the Earth will be gone. Scientists say that they're positive that the world will end but, not in a very,very,very long time. What I mean is that the world is going to end naturally, or in it's own way of course. As we all know the Earth rotates 24 hours, although: 1- the world is going to end naturally, unless us humans do anything to damage it (contamination, explosions...)  2- you will die before the world ends, don't worry ;)    Well in case you haven't noticed but we are destroying our world where did you get your information that is probably how it would have happened.But look around  look at the landfills and global warming! We have ruined our planet and sadly when mankind goes down so will the nature and wild animals and it will be our fault.Unless people really like for real cared! But they don't. So your fact were true before but now that we desroyed the earth and are still doing so this world for us won't end natrually. Also what about our kids their kids their grandchildren so even if though the world won't end in our lifetime what about our future families? What about them? :(
reply 8 minutes
Ellamy
Ellamy posted in Debating:
I'm going to answer logically and scientifically here : as we all know, the earth was a natural disaster, which means, it wasn't supposed to been made. The Sun rotates around the Earth. Our Sun burns, that's why we see in the pictures, from the satellite "Hubble" the Sun is burning little by little. In a about proximally two million years the Earth will be gone. Scientists say that they're positive that the world will end but, not in a very,very,very long time. What I mean is that the world is going to end naturally, or in it's own way of course. As we all know the Earth rotates 24 hours, although: 1- the world is going to end naturally, unless us humans do anything to damage it (contamination, explosions...)  2- you will die before the world ends, don't worry ;)   
reply 14 minutes
DonnaIva
Hiii! This is my first english poem/song I hope u like it, and.. sorry for grammar, After all, I am not native-speaking-english.girl STEP OUT OF SHADOW Suddenly, you realise, You are going down a wrong path, It is too late to turn around… Just open your eyes and hurry up Cause time flies…   At the moment, All your dreams seem so worthless, And your apologizes so useless. The reflection in the mirror Doesen`t seem yours any more, Can you move on? You are not so sure…   Just step out of shadow and smile, I know it it`s hard, But please, try! The world is not  sad or dark, In every single man, There is a good spark!   You think about The opportunities that you have lost, About hurting one you love, And that really hurts the most… You scream but no one hears you, You cry but no one sees you…   I know , They `ve been telling you To give up, that this is just an illusion; But I am telling you: That is a wrong conclusion! Don`t listen what they say, Little things can push Your problems away!     Just step out of shadow and smile, I know it it`s hard, But please, try! The world is not  sad or dark, In every single man, There is a good spark!
reply 28 minutes

play online games

Candy-100

A great online version of the famous Candy Crush. This is the best game launched...

1515_gl_kidzworld_100x100_jpg_fz

Intriguing planets, weird and wonderful characters; challenge friends and find a...

157262_(2)

When you go back to Candyland, you’ll wonder why you ever left in the first plac...

100x100_ra_logo_girl

Uncle George has left you his farm, but unfortunately it’s in pretty bad shape. ...

_thumb_100x100

Shoot blobs with different properies to merge yellow blobs. Your blobs can be re...