Kw-halloween-logo-small

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

>
>

readers voted!

Comments

sunny120

sunny120 wrote:

I want to read this book now
commented: Fri Dec 20, 2013

rithma

rithma wrote:

i dont like books but this one got my attention
commented: Fri Jul 19, 2013

kiwinana12

kiwinana12 wrote:

so going to read this
commented: Thu Jun 20, 2013

there are 5 more comments

Please login or register to add comments


like this article?
Sign up now to get more just like!

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

TheTotallyAwesomeOne
Really, the best way to speed up your computer significantly is to purchase an SSD (like a Samsung 840 Evo). It replaces your normal HDD - and it seriously makes the world of difference! Once you go SSD, you'll never want to go back! And as well as removing unneeded things off your PC - cleaning the dust out of it (and replacing thermal paste - but unless you're experienced with computer hardware, get someone who knows what they're doing to do it) will help keep the machine cool and not do a thing called "Thermal Throttling" (which is when the CPU, GPU, etc. decrease the power they can deliver to save themselves from overheating. Cleaning the dust and keeping your PC/Mac clean inside will not only result in lower temperatures, but will help increase the life of the machine. And as we know, a clean computer is a happy computer!  :)
reply about 1 hour
AlphaT
AlphaT posted in Say Anything:
And new to the forums. Usually we don't post on very old threads.
reply about 6 hours
sycoboy
sycoboy posted in Say Anything:
im gay
reply about 6 hours
JayDream
JayDream posted in New Users:
Hi, I'm Jay. Nice to meet you. Hope we can be friends.
reply about 7 hours
oFebruaryo
oFebruaryo posted in New Users:
Hello . . Hi! :) Hazel here Making new friendship here in KW :! :angel > Hazel <
reply about 7 hours

play online games

Candy-100

A great online version of the famous Candy Crush. This is the best game launched...

Big_icon_(7)

Have you ever fancied being a ranger like those fantasy characters you love so m...

Big_icon_(4)

You run across the city in a car chase with the police officers.

Big_icon_(6)

The evil master kidnapped all of your friends!

Ow_fright_ad_100x100

Explore the world or hang out with friends in your own condo. Get a unique look,...