Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Kidzworld Logo

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4


Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!



Related Stories

In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Random In The Forums

jordand08 posted in Debating:
"jordand08" wrote:Pink_Cool_ Girl, watch your language.​Anyway, no. Abortion shouldn't be about a choice. I believe in early abortions for those who are raped or molested. However, when you become pregnant, you know theres a CHANCE you COULD get pregnant, if you don't want to, use protection. People know the consequences with doing the "dirty", so if you think youre mature enough to do it, you can be mature enough to be a mom. And if you don't think you want to be a mom, theres adoption. Theres too many people who cant have babies for unknown reasons, I think that if you abort a baby, youre just throwing a smack in the face to those who cant have children.
reply about 5 hours
jordand08 posted in Debating:
"Pink_Cool_Girl" wrote:What if they were r*ped? They would have to have a baby. They should have a right to remove the fetus. Men should not choose what women do, and women should have the right to be able to control her baby. We do give the birth after all!!If someone was raped, I believe they have the right to abortion. Yes, however, I believe a father has the right to an opinion. Just because he doesn't have birth doesn't mean his opinions don't matter. Especially since its his child just as much as the mothers.
reply about 5 hours
Lolly20 posted in Electronics:
Google 100% :D :D :D :D
reply about 8 hours
I like the flamethrower and the machine gun flamethrower because i like fire and the machine because i dont have to reload alot
reply about 9 hours
Id Say Google
reply about 11 hours