Kw-logo-holiday

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

>

readers voted!

Comments

sunny120

sunny120 wrote:

I want to read this book now
commented: Fri Dec 20, 2013

rithma

rithma wrote:

i dont like books but this one got my attention
commented: Fri Jul 19, 2013

kiwinana12

kiwinana12 wrote:

so going to read this
commented: Thu Jun 20, 2013

there are 5 more comments

Please login or register to add comments


like this article?
Sign up now to get more just like it!

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

GawjussGracieex
Dear god this got bumped :O YAY
reply 17 minutes
FroggyBurton
FroggyBurton posted in New Users:
Greetings to whom reads this! My name is Howard and I want to welcome you to KidzWorld! So many kids waiting to be your friend! Feeling a bit shy to meet new people? Not to worry! Kids here are very friendly especially Jr. Mods, Mods and Admins! They all bring safety to this website and only try to make your needs/wants fulfilled. Please don't hesitate to ask me questions or add me :D
reply about 2 hours
MovingBrick
MovingBrick posted in General:
Dear god this got bumped
reply about 2 hours
Mrawsomegamer
Mrawsomegamer posted in Debating:
Oh! and if you did know about this, and sent an ##### to our school, then thank you for the support. :) We'll never be able to get over it, but we'll get by.  Thanks! :) R.I.P Mrs Maguire, gone but never forgotten...  :angel (Sorry for clogging up this debate, but the moral of the story is world wide, people are getting away with crimes like murder, and/or hurting somebody seriously...  This needs to be stopped... If the death penalty came back, I know for a fact it would scare people into doing the right thing, I don't know about America, but I'm sure it would in England.)
reply about 2 hours
MissFrankTurner
"I don't know about you, but you're looking 22". - Taylor Swift
reply about 2 hours

play online games

Hour-of-code-tumb

Codey the troll is lost! Help him avoid obstacles and get back into the computer...

Candy-quest-feature

Your troll is lost! Help it avoid obstacles and get back into the computer.

Fo...

Dragon-dash

Your dragon must return to guard the treasure! Help it gather lost coins and avo...

_thumb_100x100

Shoot blobs with different properties to merge yellow blobs. Your blobs can be r...

1005_cc_kidz_100x100_vlh

Candy's got her candies into a terrible mess, can you help her to sort them out?

Candy-100

A great online version of the famous Candy Crush. This is the best game launched...

_thumb_100x100

Bloons 2 is here! A worthy and awesome sequel at last to our original Bloons gam...

Frostbox_100x100

Explore the world or hang out with friends in your own condo. Get a unique look,...