x

Meet New Friends!

Recommended friends are based on your interests. Make sure they are up to date.

Friends
Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

Related Stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...
Hunger-games-books-poll

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as Divergent)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

Random In The Forums

CrazyElly
CrazyElly posted in Say Anything:
Do you ever get the feeling that your mum knows all your secrets when she looks at you
reply 38 minutes
Thorvald
Hi Kristi, It sounds like the rules to your assignment are pretty flexible. Which is great when you need some creative wiggle room! My first suggestion, take something you're interested in, like a hobby or a future aspiration, (like you want to win a gold medal in the Olympics, or visit a distant country,) and try to imagine a story with that as the basis. So you can write about yourself and what it might be like, or you can come up with a fictional character. It doesn't have to be realistic! :) Another suggestion, think about a memory or an experience that really stands out in your mind. It can be a happy memory, or not so much. Whatever inspires you, write about that. You can stick true to the experience, or you can take some creative liberties and change it to make the story more interesting. Remember, you can always take inspiration from a short story someone else has written, just don't plagiarize! I hope this helps! I'd love to read whatever you come up with. :)
reply about 3 hours
naruto200
naruto200 posted in Debating:
still team ninja
reply about 6 hours
callme_missright
Laptop
reply about 10 hours
bffeaea
bffeaea posted in Debating:
If you are in team pirate I have a pirate role play that is currently open. :) ;)
reply about 10 hours