Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

5 Comments

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

LovingGirl10
LovingGirl10 posted in Debating:
Yes. There is life after death. There are two places. One in heaven, & one in Hell.  Those who go to heaven are those who believe in Jesus Christ. Those who go to hell,  are those who don't believe in Jesus Christ & those who working their on way to the wrong god.  If I were you, I will believe in Jesus.  But it is your choice.
reply 31 minutes
arthi
arthi posted in General:
Tired..... And @Gaara : idk what's going on in your life but I seriously hope you ain't gonna do anything stupid [no offense]  Hope you'll feel better :)
reply about 1 hour
GaaraOfTheSand
reply about 2 hours
GaaraOfTheSand
GaaraOfTheSand posted in General:
"raoul123" wrote: "GaaraOfTheSand" wrote: Let's see i want to die suicidal feel like cutting myself Want to die want to die why?? long story and character limit is to short to post it ._,
reply about 2 hours
mimimiya13
Man, I know right? Sooo creepy. Jesus was sooo jesus, it was also jesus and jesus and jesus. Jesus has a few different meanings. 1st Jesus: Jesus 2nd Jesus: weird 3rd Jesus: creepy 4th Jesus: scary 5th Jesus: fit
reply about 2 hours

play online games