Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

>
>

readers voted!

Comments

sunny120

sunny120 wrote:

I want to read this book now
commented: Fri Dec 20, 2013

rithma

rithma wrote:

i dont like books but this one got my attention
commented: Fri Jul 19, 2013

kiwinana12

kiwinana12 wrote:

so going to read this
commented: Thu Jun 20, 2013

there are 5 more comments

Please login or register to add comments

share with your friends


Twitter Facebook Myspace Digg


like this article?
Sign up now to get more just like!

latest videos

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

Random in the forums

unit00
unit00 posted in Food:
pan fried tofu and porridge 
reply 24 minutes
-Baydee
-Baydee posted in General:
Why bump a forum that's been dead for 2 years? Just why?  - JB.
reply 33 minutes
GaaraOfTheSand
GaaraOfTheSand posted in General:
"InternetOwl" wrote: "GaaraOfTheSand" wrote: there is only one person JB is better than and that is Nikki Minaj...  And I am right now listening to Vocaloids right now :) Nah, Nikki is great - she's really kind to her fans and tells them to stay in school and stuff. JB's an idiot. Vocaloids. :P I hate Nikki Minaj's music and Justin is an idiot
reply 42 minutes
InternetOwl
InternetOwl posted in General:
"GaaraOfTheSand" wrote:there is only one person JB is better than and that is Nikki Minaj... And I am right now listening to Vocaloids right now :) Nah, Nikki is great - she's really kind to her fans and tells them to stay in school and stuff. JB's an idiot. Vocaloids. :P
reply 44 minutes
Ahoy-
Ahoy- posted in General:
I hate both Nikki Manaj and Justin Bieber. 
reply about 1 hour

play online games

Candy-100

A great online version of the famous Candy Crush. This is the best game launched...

1515_gl_kidzworld_100x100_jpg_fz

Intriguing planets, weird and wonderful characters; challenge friends and find a...

157262_(2)

When you go back to Candyland, you’ll wonder why you ever left in the first plac...

100x100_ra_logo_girl

Uncle George has left you his farm, but unfortunately it’s in pretty bad shape. ...

_thumb_100x100

Shoot blobs with different properies to merge yellow blobs. Your blobs can be re...