Kw-logo-smaller

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young

Book Review: The Program by Suzanne Young - Reviewed by Kidzworld on May 05, 2013
( Rating: 4 Star Rating)

In The Program by Suzanne Young, a teen suicide epidemic has Sloane and James fearing for their lives. But with the Program threatening to take away their memories, perhaps death isn't the worst alternative. Kidzworld has the book review!

The Epidemic

In this teen dystopian romance, Sloane and her boyfriend James have so far survived the suicide outbreak. But everywhere they go, people are watching...waiting for them to show signs of depression that will earn them a spot in the Program. For Sloane, whose brother committed suicide and whose best friend wound up in the Program, life free of both seems ideal. That is until Sloane and James's friend Miller kills himself.

The Sickness

James has always been the strong one, promising to take care of Sloane and ensure that nothing bad ever happens to her. But surrounded by so much death, James falls into despair. Sloane tries to cover for him, but the sickness has taken hold of him, and nothing but the Program can cure him. That's when he's taken.

Lost Memories

Sloane tries to survive without James, the love of her life, but she has no one left. And soon the sickness begins to grow inside of her too. When the Program is made aware of her condition, they come for her. She has no choice. Her worst fears are coming true; her memories will be taken. But fate works in mysterious ways, and sometimes the past repeats itself. With their memories wiped and their sickness cured, will Sloane and James find each other again?

The Bottom Line

The Program by Suzanne Young is first and foremost a love story about two teens whose passion for each other is destined to withstand every trial. The suicide angle is a new and refreshing take on the teen dystopian genre. We definitely recommend this book for fans of The Hunger Games, Partials or Matched.

The Program Rating: 4

 

Have Your Say

Will you read The Program by Suzanne Young? Tell us in our comment section below!

 

>
>

readers voted!

Comments

sunny120

sunny120 wrote:

I want to read this book now
commented: Fri Dec 20, 2013

rithma

rithma wrote:

i dont like books but this one got my attention
commented: Fri Jul 19, 2013

kiwinana12

kiwinana12 wrote:

so going to read this
commented: Thu Jun 20, 2013

there are 5 more comments

Please login or register to add comments

share with your friends


Twitter Facebook Myspace Digg


like this article?
get more just like it in your email

Hungergames

What's your favorite topic in sci-fi books?

  • Dystopias (new corrupt societies, such as The Hunger Games)
  • Post-apocalyptic (end of the world novels, such as The Forest of Hands and Teeth)
  • Epidemics (outbreaks of disease, such as The Scorch Trials)
  • Aliens and Other Planets (such as The Knife of Never Letting Go)

related stories

Micro_bookreview-scarlet-micro
In Scarlet, Marissa Meyer's sequel to the bestselling teen novel Cinder, we follow a modern day L...
Micro_nobodybutus-micro
In Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook, two teens try to escape their rotten life, but their circum...
Micro_reached-micro
The bestselling Matched Trilogy comes to an end in Reached by Ally Condie. Kidzworld has the book...
Micro_speechless-micro
When Chelsea gets bullied for speaking out against some violent teens, she decides to take a vow ...

latest videos

Random in the forums

kingoftheworld100
"I am epic" wrote:so lol i guess
reply 18 minutes
chelsofody
"Seth100" wrote:I really like this post it make people find out and think to themselves who they really are in life Thanks so much!! 
reply 21 minutes
mey-rin
mey-rin posted in New Users:
ey there everyone! im lili, but you can call me doll :D uhm, im female, 14 years old, and i rlly like all different kinds of anime, like black butler, dangan ronpa and dangan ronpa 2, attack on titan, and mushishi. the black butler manga is my favorite ahh. i also like swimming, outer space, being in the forest, and the smell after rain. if you have read "the little prince" by antoine de saint-exupery you should let me know cuz thats my favorite book!!! soooo yeah dont be afraid to talk to me! i hope to make more friends on here and be active uwu
reply 28 minutes
amberdawg10
amberdawg10 posted in Debating:
I think Hunger Games is the best movie ever. What do you think?
reply about 1 hour
RawrImacat
RawrImacat posted in General:
The AFTERMATH: The letters are just everywhere. Children are forgetting the alphabet, teachers have gone mad, and patents are confused. BUT WE SAVED THE QUEEN!
reply about 1 hour

play online games

Candy-100

A great online version of the famous Candy Crush. This is the best game launched...

1515_gl_kidzworld_100x100_jpg_fz

Intriguing planets, weird and wonderful characters; challenge friends and find a...

100x100_ra_logo_girl

Uncle George has left you his farm, but unfortunately it’s in pretty bad shape. ...

_thumb_100x100

Shoot blobs with different properies to merge yellow blobs. Your blobs can be re...

_thumb_100x100

We have all played the famous game Sudoku, now play it online with this Classic ...