Back left
Back right

T.I.: Paperwork Album Review

Reviewed by on Oct 27, 2014
Rating: 3 Star Rating

T.I.s ninth studio album Paperwork just dropped, and the rapper is finding himself back on top again (with the help of some new and old talent.) Find out more in the Kidzworld Album Review!


When T.I. first broke onto the music scene, he was determined to prove that he was the "King of the South," and after nine albums it's safe to say that the Atlanta rapper has made a name for himself in mainstream music. T.I. has a had a full career, and personal life - not every performer finds themselves facing jail time right as they strike it big. With nothing left to prove, Paperwork tackles some different topics than his past albums.

T.I. and Iggy Azalea in "No Mediocre"T.I. and Iggy Azalea in "No Mediocre"Courtesy of Columbia Records

Paperwork features a ton of collaborations with everyone from Usher and Pharell to less mainstream cutting-edge rappers like the-Dream, and of course it's biggest hit so far is "No Mediocre," - T.I.'s collaboration with Aussie rapper Iggy Azalea - one of his discoveries. Paperwork isn't T.I.'s most memorable album, but has some worthwhile moments of realness. The rapper may be on top of his career, but tracks like "Stay" show that he still worries about his marriage, and "Light Em Up" is a dark and moving tribute to his late protege Doe. In "New National Anthem" he tries to get listeners thinking about problems with the justice system - not an easy topic to rap about.

The tracks you'll find yourself hitting repeat on are "No Mediocre," the summer party anthem "If It Ain't About the Money," and the mellow and retro title track "Paperwork." The album is messy, and longer than necessary, but as a master rapper and producer, T.I.'s talent manages to hold it together.  

Psst!: This album comes with a Parental Advisory warning - so make sure you run it by them before listening!

Paperwork is T.I.'s ninth albumPaperwork is T.I.'s ninth albumCourtesy of Columbia Records

Track List

  1. King
  2. G S*** feat. Young Jeezy and WatchTheDuck
  3. About the Money feat. Young Thug
  4. New National Anthem feat. Skylar Grey
  5. Oh Yeah feat. Pharrell
  6. Private Show feat. Chris Brown
  7. No Mediocre feat. Iggy Azalea
  8. Jet Fuel feat. Boosie Badazz
  9. Paperwork feat. Pharrell
  10. Stay feat. Victoria Monet
  11. About My Issue feat. Victoria Monet and Nipsey Hussle
  12. At Ya Own Risk feat. Usher
  13. On Doe, On Phil feat. Trae the Truth
  14. Light Em Up feat. Pharell and WatchTheDuck
  15. Let Your Heart Go feat. The-Dream

Paperwork Album Rating: 3

Paperwork is available now!Paperwork is available now!Courtesy of Columbia Records

Check out "Paperwork" by T.I. below!


Have Your Say

What did you think of Paperwork? Let us know in the comments section below.