Back left
Back right

She & Him: Classics Album Review

Reviewed by on Dec 09, 2014
Rating: 4 Star Rating

Zooey Deschanel and M.Ward make up the duo She & Him, and theyre back with a new album of covers called Classics. Find out more in the Kidzworld Album Review!

M.Ward and Zooey Deschanel in the studioM.Ward and Zooey Deschanel in the studio


From Jazz, Country and Soul to 40s, 50s and 60s - the word "classics" can mean a lot of different things - and She & Him are no strangers retro, this indie folk doo-wop duo love dusting off old tunes and reminding us how something old can be new again (just check out their last three albums to see what we mean.) Classics is a collection of 13 songs spanning several decades, and they are just a few of Zooey Deschanel and M.Ward's top choices for classic songs.

She & Him may not be doing anything new, but each song they choose sounds like two lovebirds from an era long-gone serenading each other - you'll feel like you're in a soda shop or rom-com from when your grandparents were teens! These songs are borrowed from great performers like Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong and Chet Baker (that's a lot for She & Him to live up to.)

M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel are all about old-timey tunesM. Ward and Zooey Deschanel are all about old-timey tunes

Each song is relaxing and romantic, with Zooey's beautiful voice making you want to sway back and forth. It's no surprise that Zooey and M. Ward are often asked if they're dating, the songs are so heartfelt and affectionate it seems impossible that they aren't. There are no duds on the album - these songs are classics for a reason. Standouts include the timeless "Unchained Melody," and "It's Not for Me to Say."

One thing's for sure - this little collection of sweet vintage tunes will make you feel warm and fuzzy this holiday season.

Classics will make you feel warm and fuzzyClassics will make you feel warm and fuzzyCourtesy of Sony

Track List

  1. Stars Fell on Alabama
  2. Oh No, Not My Baby
  3. It's Not for Me to Say
  4. Stay Awhile
  5. This Girl's in Love With You
  6. Time After Time
  7. She
  8. Teach Me Tonight
  9. It's Always You
  10. Unchained Melody feat. The Chapin Sisters
  11. I'll Never Be Free
  12. Would You Like to Take a Walk
  13. We'll Meet Again

She & Him: Classics Album Rating: 4

Listen to "Stay Awhile" from Classics below!

Have Your Say

What did you think of Classics? Let us know in the comments section below.