Back left
Back right

Spider-Man PS4's New Game Plus

Oct 25, 2018

By: Max Cannon

If you've already breezed through Marvel's Spider-Man on PlayStation 4 and are looking for a reason to return then do we have some good news for you. The team over at Insomniac Games has cooked up a new difficulty mode as well as New Game Plus to give you another excuse to play through the game again with all of your upgrades at your disposal. Read on to see the details.

What is New Game Plus?

A lot of games make use of the New Game Plus feature but what exactly is it? New Game Plus means that you can start a new game with all of your upgrades from the previous playthrough already unlocked. So, if you've upgraded every gadget, unlocked each suit, and leveled up all of your skill trees, you'll be able to start a new game with all of those skills and suits right out of the gate. One of the biggest things this impacts that you may not notice immediately is the game's speed. By the end of the game, Spider-Man will have unlocked several speed upgrades to his web-swinging and you may not notice it with a fresh save but when using a New Game Plus save you'll breeze through the world at a breakneck speed.

Marvel’s Spider-Man – Gameplay Launch Trailer | PS4

That extra special save is going to come in handy if you decide to tackle Insomniac's other offering: Ultimate difficulty. While some gamers, myself included, thought that the game wound up a little too easy by the end, Insomniac is looking to squash that concern by cranking the game's challenge up to 11 with the new difficulty that has enemies hit harder and deal far more damage to Spider-Man. You're going to need to make sure you've mastered that dodge button in this mode, and if you're looking to really test your might then try it out without New Game Plus.

Spider-Man's New Game Plus lets you start out as a superior Spider-Man.Spider-Man's New Game Plus lets you start out as a superior Spider-Man.Courtesy of Marvel

More to Come

If you download the latest patch, you'll be able to play New Game Plus and Ultimate difficulty for free but there's a bit of paid content available now to play! The three-part story titled "The City That Never Sleeps" is kicking off with "The Heist," which pits Spider-Man against the Black Cat, who we heard but never saw in the game's main story. Here's the official description from PlayStation:

"While investigating the robbery of a New York art museum, Spider-Man and Mary Jane Watson find themselves closing in on Felicia Hardy, aka Black Cat. A new storyline featuring the master thief, new enemies and perilous danger takes Spider-Man and Mary Jane Watson deep into the city’s shadowy world of crime families."

Black Cat makes her debut in the new DLC.Black Cat makes her debut in the new DLC.Courtesy of PlayStation

If you already have Marvel's Spider-Man you can download "The Heist" for $9.99 USD or $24.99 USD to get access to all three DLC packs. 

Share Your Thoughts!

Are you looking forward to diving back into Marvel's Spider-Man or have you still been playing it since launch? Share your thoughts below in the comments!